Published on:

DUI Conviction Brings Heavier Penalties for CDL Holders

When a New Hampshire driver is arrested for or convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs (DUI), the state’s Division of Motor Vehicles may suspend that driver’s license. The suspension may last up to three years, depending on how many prior DUI convictions are on the driver’s record. A driver with a commercial driver’s license (CDL) faces even tougher consequences.

Commercial driver’s license holders may see their licenses suspended for up to one year if they are convicted of driving a commercial motor vehicle, like a semi truck or bus, with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.04 percent – half the legal BAC limit for drivers of private passenger vehicles. If the driver is hauling hazardous materials at the time, the suspension may last up to three years. Furthermore, a CDL holder who is convicted of DUI in New Hampshire two or more times in five years will see his or her CDL suspended for a much longer period: 10 years to life.

Most drivers who have CDLs need to keep that license in good standing so they can work and provide for themselves and their families. When a driver is arrested for or charged with drunk driving, the best chance of keeping his or her CDL lies in building an aggressive defense against the DUI charge. At Tenn And Tenn, P.A., our knowledgeable NH DWI defense attorneys work hard to protect the rights of our clients while seeking the best possible outcome. To find out how we can help you, call Tenn And Tenn, P.A. today at 1-603-624-3700 for a free confidential telephone consultation.

Contact Information