In 2013, the punishments for driving while intoxicated – DWI – or driving under the influence – DUI – in New Hampshire were significantly increased by the NH Legislature. Now all convicted drivers have a shorter time in which they must attend an approved Impaired Driver Care Management Program – or IDCMP.
The purpose of the IDCMP is alcohol and drug education and treatment. Drivers are evaluated to determine if substance abuse problems exist or are likely to develop. Convicted DUI offenders must attend 20 hours of alcohol and other drug education classes. Counselors determine whether aftercare treatment is needed and outline a treatment plan that must be followed before any driving privileges are restored.
If you have been convicted of a first offense DUI in New Hampshire, you have 14 days to complete an intake and screening at an approved IDCMP center in order to be eligible to receive a reduction in your license revocation.
If the screening is negative, you will complete an Impaired Driver Education Program (IDEP) or a Weekend Impaired Driver Education Program (WIDEP).
If the screening is positive, you will be required to complete a full substance use disorder evaluation within 30 days of conviction. If the evaluation is positive, the IDCMP will create a service plan, which may include treatment, education and/or recovery support services.
In a second, subsequent, or aggravated offense, you will have 30 days after your release from jail to schedule the evaluation and 60 days from release to complete it.
Drivers convicted of a DWI first offense can attend either an Impaired Driver Intervention Program – IDIP – or Weekend Impaired Driver Intervention Program – WIDIP. In addition to the 20 hours of alcohol and other drug education classes, drivers will complete a one-hour intake interview and a one-hour exit evaluation and assessment. The IDIP sessions are held on weeknights or all-day on consecutive Saturdays or Sundays. The WIDIP session is from Friday afternoon until late Sunday afternoon and requires two overnight stays.
Drivers required to complete the IDCMP are responsible for paying all of the fees associated with the program, they must be on time, and they must complete all portions of the program including screenings, evaluations, classroom education, and any additional treatment. For a service area map click here. An informational brochure with important instructions for drivers convicted of DUI can be found here.
If you have been charged with DUI in NH, please contact a New Hampshire DUI lawyer at Tenn And Tenn, P.A. Our attorneys can assist you with all DUI matters, and provide you with a free telephone consultation. Call us today at 1.888.511.1010.