Articles Tagged with nh dui lawyer

Published on:

It’s hard to imagine an officer of the law ever getting caught for breaking the law. Unfortunately, for one officer from the University of New Hampshire’s police department, that’s exactly what happened. One morning this past June, Diane Scott, a University security professional and former officer, found herself in a predicament. Early in the morning, an officer, Ron Taylor, received a call to investigate a car accident in Canterbury. What he found was his former colleague, Ms. Scott, lightly injured, but able to recognize him. Officer Taylor quickly saw all the signs of a DUI. Scott was reported to have a clear scent of alcohol, and difficulty standing up, swaying constantly during her conversation with the officer. It was then that officer Taylor made the arrest, much to Scott’s shock, surprise, and dismay. Scott is reported to have denied Taylor’s arrest in disbelief. After being treated for her injuries, Scott was reported to have refused a blood test when asked, and to have continued to refute her arrest. DUI_ARREST3_300

Later on, it was revealed that Scott had gone to court for an arraignment. She pleaded nolo contendere to a Class B misdemeanor DUI charge. Her sentencing resulted in a fine of $500 and a license suspension of nine months. In addition to the fines from the plea, she will also likely face additional suspension time for her test refusal from the DMV.

What Does A Nolo Contendere Plea Mean?

Published on:

The penalties for drinking and driving in New Hampshire are harsh.  A DUI conviction can lead to fines, loss of license, jail time, and a criminal offense on your record.  The severity of the penalty depends on many factors including the level of intoxication and whether this was the first conviction or subsequent DUI.DUI Penalties in NH

In New Hampshire, anyone with a blood alcohol level – or BAC – of .08 or higher is deemed to be too impaired to drive and over the “per se” legal limit.  The threshold for drivers under the age of 21 is considerably lower at .02 BAC.  And for drivers with a commercial drivers license (“CDL), operating with a .04 BAC will result in license loss for 1 year, and if hauling hazardous materials, 3 years.

In 2013, the DWI laws and punishments in NH were overhauled.  As a result, a New Hampshire DWI does not just include being under the influence of alcohol, but now includes drivers who are under the influence of drugs, prescription or otherwise.

Continue reading →

Published on:

Blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is a measure of the amount of alcohol in the bloodstream. Driving with a BAC of 0.08 percent or higher is automatically considered illegal in every U.S. state, but you may also be stopped for driving under the influence (DUI) if your driving shows signs of impairment, even if your BAC is below 0.08 percent. According to the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a person’s driving changes in predictable ways as his or her BAC goes up, allowing law enforcement to detect drunk drivers.

At 0.02 percent, many drivers typically begin to experience a slowdown in their ability to track a moving object and a lesser ability to multitask, both of which are key skills when driving. These symptoms are expected to increase as the BAC reaches 0.05 percent, along with difficulty steering and a slower response to emergency situations that require a quick stop or swerve.

At or near a BAC of 0.08 percent, a driver typically starts to lose the ability to concentrate, retain short-term memories, or control the speed of a motor vehicle. Perceptions like vision and hearing may also be impaired, leading drivers to misjudge the location of other cars, intersections, or signals. These symptoms usually get worse the higher the BAC climbs, leading eventually to an inability to keep the car in its lane or to brake properly. However, a person’s BAC does not always match these descriptions of what law enforcement typically deciphers for these different BAC levels.

Contact Information