Articles Tagged with new hampshire dwi lawyer

Published on:

If you’re convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI) in New Hampshire, the court can require you to have an ignition interlock device installed on your car or truck. Courts typically require ignition interlock devices for drivers who have already been convicted of DWI at least once. First-time DWI convictions rarely require an ignition interlock device, unless the driver had a particularly high blood alcohol content, or BAC, when he or she was arrested.

A New Hampshire ignition interlock device consists of a breath analyzer attached to your car’s ignition. You must provide a breath sample each time you want to start the car. If the analyzer detects a BAC of 0.02 percent or higher, it will “lock down” the ignition, preventing you from starting the car.

In addition to controlling when you can start the car, an ignition interlock device also keeps track of information. For instance, the device will make a record any time you try to start the car, what your BAC was when you tried, and whenever you provide another breath sample for testing while driving. Although the device can record for up to 90 days, you will usually be expected to report to have the information downloaded at least once a month.

Published on:

A conviction for driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI) carries stiff penalties in New Hampshire, even if it’s your first conviction. First, the conviction itself creates a criminal record in your name, showing that you’ve committed a misdemeanor. You may ask the court to reduce the charge on your record to a traffic violation, but you must wait at least one year.

People convicted of their first DWI in New Hampshire also face losing their driver’s license for at least 90 days. Some people lose their licenses for up to two full years. If you’re under 21, you’ll lose your license for at least one full year. If you’re over 21 and enroll in a driver intervention program within 45 days after conviction, you can petition to have your driver’s license reinstated after 90 days.

A first offense DWI New Hampshire conviction also requires a driver to pay fines of up to $1,200, plus a 24% penalty assessment. The required impaired driver intervention program (IDIP) adds an additional cost of about $600 and requires 20 hours to complete. Finally, you must maintain an SR-22 insurance certificate for three years after conviction, demonstrating that you have purchased liability insurance in case of a car accident.