Articles Tagged with Impaired Driver Intervention Program

Published on:

In New Hampshire, drivers who are convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI) will lose their driver’s licenses for at least 90 days. The driver must complete an impaired driver intervention program (IDIP) before getting his or her license back. Recently, the New Hampshire Supreme Court ruled that treatment beyond the IDIP can be imposed if the person convicted of DWI had a prior DWI arrest“ even if that arrest never resulted in a conviction.

According to a boston.com report, in the case heard by the court, a Nashua man was arrested for DWI in 1994 but was not convicted. In 2004, he was arrested for DWI again and was convicted. He completed the IDIP successfully, but at his license reinstatement hearing, a counselor said that he needed more treatment, based on his 1994 arrest. The New Hampshire Supreme Court held that, in order to treat alcohol problems and protect the public, an administrative hearings officer could consider prior arrests, even if the person arrested was never found guilty of DWI.

Being arrested or convicted for DWI in New Hampshire can be a life-changing event. A conviction can result in heavy fines, a lost license, and even jail time in some instances. After the New Hampshire Supreme Court’s recent verdict, even an arrest on suspicion of DWI can produce heavy consequences.

Published on:

If you are found guilty of driving under the influence of either drugs or alcohol, chances are you will have to attend and complete the Impaired Driver Intervention Program (IDIP). After being convicted of a DWI, individuals are often required to enroll in such programs at their own expense, and provide proof of the program’s completion upon doing so. Successful enrollment in and completion of the program is necessary to have your license and driving privileges restored.

The Impaired Driver Intervention Program in New Hampshire is a twenty-hour course that is meant to rehabilitate and warn individuals convicted of DWI of the dangers associated with driving while impaired. As stated, the program must be completed before a license suspension is lifted. For the sake of convenience, an intensive weekend course is available in New Hampshire. For those individuals convicted of DWI in the state of New Hampshire, but who live in another state, an IDIP may be completed out-of-state, but it is important that the out-of-state IDIP is recognized by the state of New Hampshire as acceptable.

Successful completion of the IDIP will culminate with an evaluation to determine whether or not follow-up treatment is required. If follow-up treatment is deemed necessary, then the individual’s license will not be restored until the follow-up treatment is successfully completed as well. Follow-up treatment is automatically recommended if the individual was found to have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) greater than 0.16, or a BAC greater than 0.08 if the individual is younger than 21 years of age. Furthermore, if an individual is found guilty of multiple alcohol or drug-related vehicle arrests, then that individual too will be required to seek follow-up treatment to the IDIP.