Articles Tagged with dwi penalties

Published on:

NH Man Crashes into Tree and Injures Daughter– DWI #3

As recently reported in the Manchester Union Leader, a Rochester New Hampshire man with 2 previous DWI convictions was recently involved in a motor vehicle crash wherein his 9 year old daughter was severely injured. According to the Deerfield NH Police, the 29 year old man reported that he swerved to avoid a deer and crashed into a tree. His young daughter was trapped inside the vehicle for approximately 30 minutes while fire and rescue teams extricated her. The driver was arrested and charged with DWI subsequent, his 3rd offense in NH.

For the past 20 years, the NH DUI lawyers at Tenn And Tenn, PA have been helping individuals charged with DWI in New Hampshire. Oftentimes, good people make a poor decision to drink and drive. Most clients are so scared by the potential first- offense penalties, that they vow never to put themselves at risk again. Educating our clients about the criminal process helps to minimize recidivism and prevent future Drunk Driving behavior.

Published on:

In New Hampshire, drivers who are convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI) will lose their driver’s licenses for at least 90 days. The driver must complete an impaired driver intervention program (IDIP) before getting his or her license back. Recently, the New Hampshire Supreme Court ruled that treatment beyond the IDIP can be imposed if the person convicted of DWI had a prior DWI arrest“ even if that arrest never resulted in a conviction.

According to a boston.com report, in the case heard by the court, a Nashua man was arrested for DWI in 1994 but was not convicted. In 2004, he was arrested for DWI again and was convicted. He completed the IDIP successfully, but at his license reinstatement hearing, a counselor said that he needed more treatment, based on his 1994 arrest. The New Hampshire Supreme Court held that, in order to treat alcohol problems and protect the public, an administrative hearings officer could consider prior arrests, even if the person arrested was never found guilty of DWI.

Being arrested or convicted for DWI in New Hampshire can be a life-changing event. A conviction can result in heavy fines, a lost license, and even jail time in some instances. After the New Hampshire Supreme Court’s recent verdict, even an arrest on suspicion of DWI can produce heavy consequences.