COVID-19 Update: We are open and serving our clients

Articles Tagged with dui defense lawyer new hampshire

Published on:

If you are arrested and convicted one time for DWI, it could be attributed to a misunderstanding or a lapse in judgment. If you’re arrested for repeated DWIs, it signals a possible problem. If you find yourself caught in a repeated DWI cycle, you’re not alone–but you’re still in a dangerous position. As many as one-third of all DWI arrests are for repeat offenders, and according to MADD, 91 percent of alcohol-related fatalities are committed by repeat offenders.

If you have multiple DWIs, you’re at risk for a host of consequences, including unemployment, loss of driving privileges, higher insurance rates, and jail time–not to mention an increased chance of causing injury or death to yourself and others. The best way to break this cycle is to understand its root causes and then take tangible steps to disrupt the cycle.

Tenn-police-siren-300x228

Why People Commit Repeat DWIs

Published on:

So you’re facing your third (or fourth) DWI arrest. Here in New Hampshire, that means you’re now dealing with felony charges. If convicted, you’re facing mandatory jail time, plus an indefinite suspension of your driver’s license. But beyond these challenges, you’re now wondering if something is wrong with you. Do you have a problem with alcoholism? Perhaps you’re even wondering if you were born with a propensity for DWI. Is it true? Are you somehow genetically fated to have problems with alcoholism resulting in continued DWIs?

While there certainly is a possibility that your propensity for alcohol is genetic, that does not mean you’re doomed to fight DWIs all your life. Let’s explore this question a bit further.

The Connection Between Alcoholism and GeneticsTenn-DNA-300x213

Published on:

If you’ve ever had a DWI, you know you don’t want another one. A second offense in New Hampshire means losing your license for three full years, and a third offense means losing it indefinitely. Luckily, as the saying goes, there’s an app for that. In fact, there are several iOS and Android apps designed to keep you from getting behind the wheel when you’ve had a few too many.

BAC CalculatorsTenn-phone-apps-229x300

The simplest sort of app for drinkers is the blood alcohol content (BAC) calculator. These programs do just what they promise: they calculate your blood alcohol content and let you know if it’s safe for you to drive. Most of them ask you to provide physical details—height, weight, gender, age—and a list of what you consume over the course of an evening. It’s only an estimate, but these apps can give you a sense of how much alcohol is in your system at any given moment. Some even have an element of fun to them. EndDUI includes several games which test your ability to focus.

Published on:

A study recently conducted in Washington state concluded that drivers who are convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI) should have ignition interlock devices installed on their vehicles to prevent a second incident from occurring, even if the DUI conviction was the driver’s first brush with the law, according to an article from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS).

Ignition Interlock Device DUI NHCurrently, New Hampshire ignition interlock devices aren’t required for persons receiving their first DUI if their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was under 0.15 percent at the time of their arrest, as is the case in many other states. Drivers receiving a second or later DUI conviction, or motorists with a high BAC, may be required to have the device installed in their vehicles, however.

The researchers in Washington, however, found that when first-time DUI receivers had ignition interlock devices installed on their vehicles, the chances that they would be arrested for a second DUI were cut in half. Based on this data, some officials are recommending ignition interlock devices be required for anyone who has been convicted of drunk driving. If this recommendation becomes law, it will create an additional burden on those already facing stiff consequences for a DUI conviction.

Published on:

New Hampshire DUI Prevention St. Patrick's DaySt. Patrick’s Day, March 17, is a popular holiday to hit the local bar and enjoy a beer or other alcoholic beverage – many of which come in green to celebrate the day. But more people out partying also means more police officers on the roads, in roving patrols and at NH sobriety checkpoints, keeping an eye on drivers and possibly arresting those drivers suspected of driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI). To help yourself and your friends avoid a run-in with the law this St. Patrick’s Day, keep the following tips in mind:

  • Choose a sober driver or plan a sober way home before you start partying. Taxi services, sober family members, public transportation, and even walking are all options that can reduce your risk of arrest if you’ve been drinking.
  • Keep the phone numbers of local taxi companies or other transportation with you when you go out. Not only will you have options for yourself, you’ll also have a way to help someone else who has had “one too many” get home safely.
Published on:

The New Hampshire Senate is currently considering a bill that would expand the administrative powers of the Division of Motor Vehicles when it comes to drivers who have been arrested for or charged with driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI) in New Hampshire.

The bill, known as Senate Bill 282, would allow the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles to request a hearing whenever a person’s license is suspended or revoked after a DUI arrest. The hearing would determine whether installing an ignition interlock device on the driver’s vehicle would improve safety.

If the hearing officer decides the answer is yes, the driver will have to have the device installed – at his or her own cost – before getting permission to drive again. The ignition interlock device could be required even if the driver is never actually convicted of DUI/DWI, or is convicted of only a first offense, which currently does not require an ignition interlock device in most cases. While supporters say the bill will improve safety and reduce possible drunk driving incidents, according to the Union-Leader, opponents say that an ignition interlock device should only be required if a driver is actually convicted of an alcohol-related offense – and they point out that an arrest alone never proves guilt.

Published on:

Boaters who are convicted of certain crimes while on their boats could also lose their licenses to drive a motor vehicle in New Hampshire, under a bill passed recently by the New Hampshire Senate.boat dui penalties

The bill allows the state’s Division of Motor Vehicles to suspend or revoke the driver’s licenses of boaters who are convicted of operating a boat recklessly or of causing death or injury to another in a boating accident. These convictions cover a wide range of situations in which alcohol or drug use may be suspected.

Operating a boat under the influence of alcohol or other drugs is currently prohibited in New Hampshire, but currently, a conviction on this charge usually results only in suspension or revocation of a boater’s license to drive a boat – not the person’s license to drive a car. If the Senate’s bill becomes law, however, a conviction for boating while impaired or intoxicated may result in the loss of a driver’s license as well as a boater’s license, even if the convicted person has never driven a car under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI).

Published on:

In New Hampshire, drivers who are arrested on suspicion of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) face an automatic license suspension or revocation. Whether the license is suspended or revoked and for how long depends on the drivers’ past history of DUI convictions. A license can be suspended or revoked even if the driver is later found to be completely innocent.

If your license has been suspended or revoked because of a DUI arrest in New Hampshire, you have a right to a hearing before the Department of Motor Vehicles to explain why you should not incur a license suspension or revocation. You are not required to have an attorney at this hearing, but you are allowed to have one represent you, and it’s a very good idea to get an attorney’s help. Experienced New Hampshire DUI defense attorneys frequently represent clients in license revocation or suspension hearings. They understand how these hearings work and can put together the best possible arguments in favor of getting you your license back – just like they do in court when fighting the DUI charge itself.

A drunk driving conviction carries serious penalties. Even an arrest or charge can affect your driving privileges, employment, and more. At Tenn And Tenn, P.A., our experienced New Hampshire DUI defense attorneys are dedicated to aggressively defending those charged with a DUI in New Hampshire and protecting his or her rights, while also seeking the best possible outcome in their case. For a free and confidential telephone consultation, call us today at (603) 624-3700, or toll-free at 1(888) 511-1010.

Published on:

drunk driving preventionThe U.S. National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) is offering a media kit to help local and state law enforcement offices nationwide publicize increased efforts to identify and arrest possible drunk drivers during the NFL playoffs and the Super Bowl. Known as the “Fans Don’t Let Fans Drive Drunk” campaign, the messages encouraging smart driving – and the increased police presence that accompanies them – began January 2, 2012 and will run until February 6, 2012, the day after the Super Bowl.

The purpose of the campaign, according to the NHTSA, is to remind people enjoying the playoffs and the Super Bowl to make smart choices about combining alcohol with their celebrations. It’s fun to have a beer or two while watching the games, but the NHTSA recommends choosing a designated driver before you do – or choosing a way home that doesn’t involve driving, like taking a cab, public transportation, or walking. Alternately, football fans may choose to host a party or two in their homes.

Plans for increased police presences vary by state. In New Hampshire, state and local patrols may include more officers on more shifts, as well as the use of NH sobriety checkpoints. An arrest on suspicion of driving under the influence (DUI) in New Hampshire can have serious consequences, such as a suspended license and other penalties. A conviction carries even stiffer penalties.

Published on:

If you’ve been arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI) in New Hampshire, it’s likely your driver’s license has been suspended, even if you haven’t been to court yet. These suspensions are known as Administrative License Suspensions. Since they are the responsibility of the Division of Motor Vehicles, rather than the criminal courts, they can take place even if you are never convicted of any crime.

New Hampshire law allows an Administrative License Suspension to take place if a person is arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, and:

  • the person refused to take a drug or alcohol test,
Contact Information