Articles Tagged with drunk driving consequences

Published on:

An off-duty firefighter in Nashua was charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI) after he crashed into a car driven by the mayor of Nashua at the corner of Lake and Pine streets, according to a recent news story released by WMUR. Both drivers and the mayor’s passenger were wearing their seat belts and suffered no injuries.

The firefighter was charged with a DWI second offense, since he previously pleaded guilty to another DWI charge in 2009. He was released on bail and is expected to appear in court in November. The fire department has not said whether the charge will affect the firefighter’s employment.

A conviction for a second New Hampshire DWI carries harsher penalties than the first conviction. These include a mandatory jail sentence, mandatory treatment that the driver must pay for, and a mandatory loss of your drivers’ license for at least three years. You may also be required to attend the Multiple Offender Intervention Detention Program and pay over $2,000 in fines.

Published on:

New Hampshire law requires people convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI) to meet certain conditions. One of them is to maintain a New Hampshire SR-22 Insurance Certificate.

According to the New Hampshire Department of Safety, An SR-22 Insurance Certificate proves that the person holding it has liability insurance in case of a car accident. If you are convicted of DWI, you must maintain your SR-22 for three years. For a second DWI conviction, the SR-22 must be maintained for five years.

When you receive your SR-22, examine it closely. You can get an SR-22 in either one of two forms: an “Owner” certificate or a “Non-Owner” certificate. Under New Hampshire law, an Owner certificate must state that your insurance covers “Any Vehicles Owned by the Insured.” It should not list the vehicles you own. A Non-Owner certificate should state that your insurance covers “Any Vehicles Driven by the Insured.”

Published on:

As the Union Leader recently reported, New Hampshire’s former Liquor Commissioner was recently convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI), resulting in $620 in fines and a suspended license. But the former Commissioner’s troubles began not with his conviction, but with the DWI charge.

After the former commissioner was arrested for DWI in April, Governor John Lynch fired him, citing the arrest as the cause. Although the governor noted that those who are arrested on suspicion of a crime should be considered innocent until proven guilty, he said that the former liquor commissioner’s behavior was “simply unacceptable.”

The governor was particularly troubled by the former Commissioner’s unwillingness to submit to a breath test to determine his blood alcohol content (BAC) on the night of his arrest. New Hampshire law holds that anyone who receives a New Hampshire drivers’ license has given “implied consent” to law enforcement to obtain a breath or blood sample for testing when the driver is suspected of being under the influence of drugs or alcohol.