Being arrested for DWI is a frightening, life-shaking event that may trigger depression or bouts of anxiety. You might have sleepless nights and distracted days where you obsess over the arrest and its potential personal and professional consequences. You may also become burdened by negative emotions such as guilt, shame, or self-hatred and become isolated from family and friends.
With thousands of drivers on New Hampshire roads every day, car accidents are bound to happen. And even though auto safety technology is improving every year with sensors to tell you if another car is in your blind spot and automatic emergency braking systems, the number of car accidents that happen continues to rise steadily. According to a study conducted by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) and reported by Safer America, traffic accidents cost almost $900 billion every year. Continue reading →
In 2014, NY officers pulled over a 35-year old school teacher after stopping her for erratic driving. The school teacher failed several field sobriety tests on the scene, and a Breathalyzer later showed her blood-alcohol level to be four times the legal limit. Given these facts, this case might seem like your run-of-the-mill DWI case. However, with the help of counsel, the teacher successfully got her charges dismissed due to a rare condition called auto-brewery syndrome. Continue reading →
If you’ve been charged with driving while under the influence (DWI) in New Hampshire and hold a commercial driver’s license, you might be wondering if you will be subject to harsher punishments. In New Hampshire, commercial drivers are held to a higher standard than individuals with other driver’s license classifications.
Punishments for DWI with Commercial Driver’s License
Everyone is Irish on St. Patrick’s Day. Almost everyone is also taking risks on this national day of partying that they would not normally take. Even if you are not one of them, their unreasonable behavior can lead to you getting hurt if you are not careful and taking extra precautions. Continue reading →
You are out with a friend. You drink one too many drinks. You attempt to drive home but cause a tragic accident instead. The friend dies and you get arrested. A night like this nobody wins. An evening of joy can turn bad really quick. It pays to be cautious when out having a drink and then deciding to drive home. Continue reading →
Getting arrested for DWI as a senior may come as a shock to you, especially if you’ve taken pride as a careful driver. But unfortunately, getting older can heighten the risk of getting charged with a DWI. Continue reading →
Driving a motorcycle can be an exciting experience. The open road ahead of you, the wind billowing around you, it’s thrilling. But if you are pulled over for a suspected DUI, that freedom can be revoked quickly. Motorcycle riders across the state are more at risk for crashes than regular motor vehicle drivers. In fact, the New Hampshire Department of Transportation Continue reading →
Getting a phone call from the police that your teenager has been arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI) is among the worst any parent can receive. New Hampshire penalties for underage DWI are harsh, and a DWI conviction on a teenager’s record can have long-lasting consequences that can follow them for a long time.
If you are a concerned parent in this situation, here is how you can help your child through the next steps of the legal process:
New Hampshire takes the offense of driving while intoxicated (DWI) that results in an injury (sometimes called DUI with injury) extremely seriously. If you caused a serious injury to another person or yourself while under the influence of a drug or alcohol, you may be charged with Aggravated Driving While Intoxicated (Aggravated DWI)—a class B felony that carries mandatory jail time, driver’s license suspension, and significant fines and other associated Continue reading →