Published on:

Brentwood NH Fire Chief Arrested for DWI–Pleads Not Guilty

Earlier this month, the Brentwood, New Hampshire Fire Chief, Bill Campbell was arrested for allegedly driving under the influence. The arrest took place in Fremont after his pickup truck crossed the center line on Route 107. He hit another vehicle before ultimately striking a telephone pole and coming to a stop on the side of his vehicle.duiimages

Campbell, also employed as a full-time fire lieutenant in Nashua, has been placed on unpaid leave as fire chief in Brentwood and paid leave from the fire department in Nashua. Campbell waived arraignment and entered a not guilty plea in Brentwood Circuit Court.

Detecting a Drunk Driver in New Hampshire

There are three phases in the DUI/DWI detection process that New Hampshire law enforcement use in the determination of whether or not an individual should be arrested for driving while intoxicated:

  • Phase One – Vehicle in Motion;
  • Phase Two – Personal Contact; and
  • Phase Three – Pre ‐arrest Screening

When a traffic accident occurs, officers will then begin with the personal contact phase once they arrive on the scene of the accident. The officers will use “cues” during the personal contact to determine whether or not they should advance to the pre-arrest screening phase. When an accident has been caused by an individual who is suspected to be under the influence of drugs or alcohol, the accused individual may face an elevated DWI charge called an “Aggravated DWI.” “Aggravating factors include:

  • Driving at or above 30 miles per hour in excess of the posted speed limit;
  • Causing a motor vehicle accident that resulted in serious bodily injury to yourself or someone else (which can elevate the charge of aggravated DWI to a felony-level offense);
  • An attempt to flee or hide from the police;
  • Traveling with a passenger in the car whom is less than 16 years old; and
  • Operating a vehicle with an alcohol concentration of over .16.”

Immediate and Long-Term Penalties of a DWI Conviction

When an individual is convicted with an aggravated DWI in New Hampshire, there are several penalties that person may face. “Aggravated DWI penalties may include, in part:

  • A conviction of a Class A Misdemeanor;
  • Fines at a minimum of $750;
  • Mandatory jail time for a minimum of 17 days to a maximum of one year;
  • License suspension for a minimum of 18 months to a maximum of 2 years;
  • An Ignition Interlock device installed into the defendant’s vehicle for a minimum of 1 year to a maximum of 2 years, at the expense of the defendant.”

People often think about the immediate penalties above, and forget about more long-term consequences due to a DWI conviction. A DWI conviction can also lead to a steep rise in insurance rates that can make driving extremely expensive. There are two primary ways that a DWI conviction can negatively impact your insurance:

  • A large increase in car insurance premiums; and
  • The State of New Hampshire will require a mandatory SR-22 insurance certificate.

New Hampshire DWI Defense Lawyers

An individual arrested for a DWI may face severe penalties. The best way to avoid steep penalties, including increased insurance costs that often accompany a DWI is to fight the charges before you are convicted. The defense attorneys at Tenn And Tenn, P.A. are highly skilled and have years of experience at defending DWI charges and fighting to protect your rights. If you or a loved one has been arrested for DWI, contact Tenn And Tenn, P.A. today!