Published on:

A Pregnant Woman, A Pistol, and Pepper Spray – A Story of Road Rage

Over the weekend a pistol, pepper spray, a pregnant woman, and two vehicles were all a part of a road rage incident that still has police trying to sort out what actually happened. The incident began in Brattleboro, Vermont where a pregnant woman states that a man in a Subaru Forester threw a bottle at her Honda Civic. The dispute spilled over into Hinsdale, New Hampshire where witnesses say the cars stopped and the drivers argued. At this point, the woman returned to her car and allegedly rammed her car into the man’s car.roadrageainPhoto-300x200

The driver of the Subaru got out of the car and began to walk toward the pregnant woman when she noticed a pistol at his hip. As far as police know, the man kept the pistol holstered. Nevertheless, upon approach, the pregnant woman noticed the man’s pistol and retrieved her pepper spray and sprayed the man in the face.

The man declined medical treatment at the scene, but the woman was taken to the hospital. She was treated and released. The police have yet to file charges as they are still trying to determine the facts of the situation.

Simple Assault in New Hampshire

In the State of New Hampshire, unwanted physical contact that results in an injury is known as “simple assault.” Under this definition, any touch, even a slap, hit, poke, or push, can result in a simple assault charge. Specifically, the statute says that a simple assault can occur when a person “purposely or knowingly causes bodily injury; recklessly causes bodily injury; or negligently causes bodily injury with a deadly weapon.”

In the scenario above, depending on the determined facts of the police investigation, it may be determined that the pregnant woman acted purposefully when she sprayed the man in the face with her pepper spray. All she needed to know was that by following through with spraying the man, it would have the intended result—injury.

Penalties of Simple Assault Charges in New Hampshire

If you find that you have been arrested or charged with simple assault, it is best that you hire experienced New Hampshire criminal defense attorneys immediately. The criminal defense lawyers at Tenn And Tenn, P.A. handle several types of criminal charges and can expertly defend you against penalties you may face. Prosecutors have the discretion to charge either a Class A misdemeanor or Class B misdemeanor simple assault. If charged with class A simple assault, you may face the following penalties:

  • Up to one year in jail;
  • Up to $2,000 in fines;

If charged with class B simple assault you may face a penalty of up to $1,200 in fines.

Contact New Hampshire Criminal Defense Lawyers

Simple assault may sound just that—Simple. However, if you are charged with any level of simple assault, you should take the charges very seriously. Any criminal offense, especially an assault, can have negative repercussions on your life. You can potentially lose your job or even get kicked out of school.

The criminal defense lawyers at Tenn And Tenn, P.A. use their extensive experience to lessen the penalty and impact that a charge such as this may have on your life. Call Tenn And Tenn, P.A. today to best protect yourself against harsh legal consequences!