Published on:

NH Car Accidents and the Statute of Limitations

NH Car Accidents and the Statute of Limitations

Each State has its Own Specific Laws

If you have been involved in an auto accident knowing the state laws regarding your case is important. Laws in each state are different and knowing the details of the laws that pertain to your accident claim is critically important.  Ignoring the law might just end up costing you your case. Time could be limited in your state, so filing your claim within the statute of limitations is important. car-accident-time-limits

 Statute of Limitation in the State of New Hampshire

 Filing a car accident lawsuit in New Hampshire must be done within a limited time frame. This “statute of limitations” runs out only 3 years after an auto accident has happened. As such, you have a limited amount of time to file your NH accident claims against the responsible party(s).  This time frame technically begins the day of the accident. To find more details about this law, it is listed under New Hampshire Revised Statutes 508:4.

Automobile Insurance in New Hampshire is Different than Other States

 Some states require every driver to maintain automobile insurance. But New Hampshire driver licensing law works a little bit differently.  You are not required to maintain automobile insurance, rather, each driver in the state is required to be financially responsible for any accident that might occur due to their negligence. Many drivers choose to cover themselves against lawsuits or claims and to fulfill their state requirements by purchasing vehicle insurance.

Automobile Insurance is a Good Idea

 When a driver in the state of New Hampshire purchases auto insurance the following amounts of coverage is typically provided in their basic liability policy. These are the minimum amounts covered by each policy that the state requires the insurance companies to cover.

• Minimum of $25,000 for each accident.

• Up to $1,000 for medical payments coverage related to the accident.

• Up to $25,000 for property damage that has occurred due to the accident.

 

Call a Lawyer if You Have Been Injured

 If you have been hurt or injured in New Hampshire due to no fault of your own and you are in doubt about the other driver’s ability to pay for your injuries, it’s time to contact an attorney. Even if you and the other driver has insurance, you never know when their insurance company may try to get out of paying you the money you deserve. Remember, if you have been hurt, your time is limited and if you neglect to file suit you may not get the compensation you need. So contact a New Hampshire attorney  today to discuss your claim.

By Tenn And Tenn, P.A.