Published on:

What is a New Hampshire “Aggravated” DUI?

New Hampshire law prohibits driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs (DUI). The legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit for drivers is 0.08 percent, and 0.02 percent for those under the age of 21. Additional factors in a case, however, may lead to a charge of “aggravated” DUI in NH, which comes with stiffer penalties if a person is convicted.

A New Hampshire driver may face an aggravated DUI charge if it appears that any of the following conditions may have existed in his or her case:

Speeding. Driving more than 30 miles per hour over the posted speed limit may lead to an aggravated DUI charge.

Accident with injuries. Getting into an accident that seriously injures the driver or another person may be grounds for an aggravated DUI charge.

Attempting to avoid police pursuit. Turning off the headlights, speeding, or leaving the vehicle may all lead to an aggravated DUI charge if it looks like the driver was trying to avoid police by doing any of these things.

Driving with a child in the car. If a child under the age of 16 is a passenger in the vehicle, a DUI charge may be increased to an aggravated DUI charge.

Having a BAC of 0.16 or higher. If a breath test or blood test comes back with a BAC result of 0.16 percent or higher, an aggravated DUI charge might result.

A conviction for aggravated DUI comes with stiff penalties, including mandatory jail time. If you or someone you love has been charged with a DUI or an aggravated DUI, the experienced New Hampshire DUI defense lawyers at Tenn And Tenn, P.A. can help. Call us today at (603) 624-3700 for a free and confidential consultation by telephone.