Published on:

Why Was My New Hampshire Driver’s License Suspended Before My DUI Trial?

If you’ve been arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI) in New Hampshire, it’s likely your driver’s license has been suspended, even if you haven’t been to court yet. These suspensions are known as Administrative License Suspensions. Since they are the responsibility of the Division of Motor Vehicles, rather than the criminal courts, they can take place even if you are never convicted of any crime.

New Hampshire law allows an Administrative License Suspension to take place if a person is arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, and:

  • the person refused to take a drug or alcohol test,
  • the person agreed to the test, but it showed a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or more; or
  • the person agreed to take the test, but it showed a blood alcohol concentration of 0.02 percent or more and the person is under age 21.

When a license is taken because of an administrative license suspension, the driver should receive either a temporary license valid for a short period of time and/or notice about the suspension and how the driver can challenge it. New Hampshire drivers are entitled to a hearing with the Division of Motor Vehicles to determine whether their license should be suspended and for how long. An experienced New Hampshire administrative license suspension attorney can help you fight for the best possible outcome at your hearing, as well as at other stages of your case.

If you or someone you love has been accused of a DUI in New Hampshire, the experienced New Hampshire DUI defense attorneys at Tenn And Tenn, P.A. can help. Call us today at (603) 624-3700 for a free and confidential telephone consultation.