New Hampshire laws regarding boating while intoxicated contain the same severe consequences as a New Hampshire DWI conviction. Not only can you potentially lose your boating license, but your driver’s license is at jeopardy as well.
“Operation Dry Water,” is a federally funded program aimed at reducing the number of alcohol and drug-related accidents and fatalities on the water. Held during the summer boating season, and coordinated by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators””with the states, the U.S. Coast Guard and other partner agencies””Operation Dry Water directly addresses the National Recreational Boating Safety Strategic Plan Strategy to “increase the number of BUI checkpoints” and to challenge law enforcement officials to test more operators for alcohol/drug use.
If you have been arrested for “boating while intoxicated”, “aggravated boating while intoxicated” or “boating under the influence” in New Hampshire, please call the experienced DWI Lawyers in New Hampshire at Tenn And Tenn, P.A. today at 1-603-624-3700 for a free telephone consultation.
Here is some more information on boating while intoxicated in New Hampshire:
265-A:19 Penalties for Boating While Intoxicated.
I. Any person convicted of a violation of RSA 265-A:2, II or RSA 630:2 or RSA 630:3, or RSA 631:1, RSA 631:2, RSA 631:2-a, or RSA 631:3 when the offense was committed by means of his or her operation or attempted operation of a boat shall not operate a boat on the waters of this state for a period of one year from the date of his or her conviction, whether or not such conviction is appealed. Any person operating or attempting to operate a boat during such a period is guilty of a misdemeanor.
II. Any person convicted of a violation of RSA 265-A:2, II who at the time of the violation was transporting a person under the age of 16 shall not operate a boat on the waters of this state until the offender has successfully completed a 7-day program at the state operated multiple DWI offender program or an equivalent 7-day residential intervention program approved by the department of health and human services at the person’s own expense. Any person operating a boat in violation of this paragraph is guilty of a misdemeanor.
III. Any conviction under this section shall be reported to the commissioner of the department of safety, division of motor vehicles, and shall become a part of the motor vehicle driving record of the person convicted.
IV. Any person who is convicted of a violation of RSA 265-A:2, II shall be subject to the same penalties as a person convicted of a violation of RSA 265-A:2, I as specified in RSA 265-A:18. Any person who is convicted of a violation of paragraph II of this section shall be subject to the same penalties as a person convicted of a violation of RSA 265-A:3 as specified in RSA 265-A:18.
65-A:20 Loss of Motorboat Privileges. Ã± Any person who is convicted of a violation of RSA 265-A:2, I involving a motor vehicle shall lose the privilege to operate a motorboat on the waters of this state for a period of one year from the date of conviction.