Published on:

How Do New Hampshire’s DUI Laws Compare to Other States?

New Hampshire’s law enforcement teams pride themselves on enforcing some of the toughest driving under the influence (DUI) laws in the country. But is this really the case? When it comes to tough drunk driving laws, how does New Hampshire stack up?

Like all other U.S. States, New Hampshire has a per se DUI law, which makes it illegal to drive if your blood alcohol concentration, or BAC, is 0.08 percent or higher (or 0.02 if under 21 years old). New Hampshire also has an administrative license suspension law that suspends a driver’s license for up to six months if the driver is arrested on suspicion of DUI. Also, New Hampshire has an ignition interlock requirement, in which repeat offenders must have a device placed on their car that checks their BAC and prevents the driver from starting the car if he or she has been drinking. Jail time, steep fines, insurance requirements, community service, and required rehabilitation round out the possible penalties for a New Hampshire DUI conviction.

However, New Hampshire’s DUI laws are lighter than those in some other states. For instance, many U.S. states require jail time for a first DUI conviction. Regardless of the penalties, however, a DUI conviction means a permanent criminal record, high costs, and other penalties. The experienced New Hampshire drunk driving attorneys at Tenn And Tenn, P.A. can help you fight a NH DWI charge and seek the best possible outcome in your case. For a confidential consultation, call Tenn And Tenn, P.A. today at 1-603-624-3700 or on our free DWI helpline ast 1-888-511-1010.