Published on:

Drunk Driving Convictions in NH Can Include Hefty Costs

Being convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) in New Hampshire means facing strict penalties, which can include jail time, rehabilitation, and an ignition interlock system placed in your car. It also means many fines and costs. According to an article from Bankrate.com, a DUI conviction can cost a driver as much as $20,000.

The expenses related to a New Hampshire drunk driving conviction start with paying fines, court costs, and perhaps bail. If your car has been impounded as part of your case, you may have to pay to get it back, and if the court orders you to use an ignition interlock system, it’s your responsibility to pay for the system’s installation. If your driver’s license has been suspended or revoked, you may pay more for alternative transportation, like cabs or buses. The costs of rehabilitation, monitoring, and other requirements may also be added to your tab after a drunk driving conviction. And auto insurance premiums tend to increase after a DUI conviction, which can continue costing you extra cash long after you’ve put the conviction behind you.

A first-time DUI conviction often costs between $9,000 and $24,000, according to Bankrate.com. An aggressive defense provided by an experienced New Hampshire drunk driving attorney, however, can help you seek the best possible outcome if you’ve been charged with DUI. At Tenn And Tenn, P.A., we have the resources and experience to fight for you. To learn more, call our NH DWI lawyers at 1-888-511-1010.