Published on:

New Hampshire Requires “Phase II” Intervention for DWI Convictions

Drivers convicted of their first driving while intoxicated (DWI) offense are required to take the New Hampshire impaired driver intervention program (IDIP). Drivers facing a second DWI conviction within ten years of the first one must also take alcohol education classes. These drivers take a Phase II class, which differs from the first-offense class in several ways.

The first offense IDIP program may be completed either at night or over a weekend. It involves an intake interview, 20 hours of drug education classes, and an exit interview. The program costs $460 to $585, depending whether nights or weekends are chosen.

The “Phase II” program holds drivers to much stricter requirements and involves a much higher price. In the Phase II Multiple Offender Program (MOP), those convicted of DWI must attend a seven-day inpatient program, which involves much more intensive drug education and group therapy classes. Similar to the first offender program, the Phase II program includes hour-long intake and discharge interviews, as well as a continuing care plan that the driver must follow to regain his or her license. In addition, the Phase II IDIP class costs nearly three times as much as the first-offense class: as of January 2011, the cost was $1550.

The IDIP and MOP classes are just one of the potential penalties facing a New Hampshire resident convicted of drunk driving. If you have been charged with a DWI in New Hampshire, you need aggressive, experienced representation to ensure that your rights are protected. The New Hampshire DUI defense lawyers at Tenn And Tenn, P.A. will fight hard to protect your rights and seek the best possible outcome in your case. For a free and confidential consultation, call Tenn And Tenn, P.A. today at 1-888-511-1010.