Published on:

Impaired Driving Intervention Program Is Part of New Hampshire DUI/DWI Sentence

When a driver in New Hampshire is convicted of a first offense driving while intoxicated by use of alcohol or drugs, they must complete an Impaired Driving Intervention Program (IDIP). IDIP programs are offered by the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), and are required by the court before a person convicted of drunk driving may get back on the road again.

The DHHS allows those facing their first DWI conviction to take the IDIP either on weekdays or weekends, both which take 22 hours to complete. They require a one-hour intake interview, 20 hours of alcohol- and drug-education classes, and a one-hour final assessment by a licensed alcohol and drug counselor. Those who successfully complete these requirements must also meet any continuing care recommendations, such as further counseling, before their New Hampshire driver’s license will be restored.

The weekday program is given on weekday evenings. As of January 2011, the enrollment fee for weekday classes was $460. The weekend program runs from Friday afternoon to Sunday afternoon, requiring two overnight stays. The fee for the weekend program was $585 as of early 2011. The weekend fee includes room and board costs.

The Impaired Driving Intervention Program is just one of the many requirements and penalties the court imposes when it finds a driver guilty of DWI in New Hampshire. If you have been charged with drunk driving in New Hampshire, it’s wise to consult an experienced New Hampshire drunk driving lawyer as soon as possible. The experienced DWI attorneys at Tenn And Tenn, P.A. will examine your case carefully and fight for the best possible outcome. To schedule a free and confidential case evaluation, call Tenn And Tenn, P.A. today at 1-888-511-1010.