Published on:

New Hampshire DWI: What is an Administrative License Suspension Hearing?

If you are charged with driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI) in New Hampshire, you may face an Administrative License Suspension (ALS) hearing in addition to a criminal charge.

New Hampshire law requires that the DMV suspend your driver’s license if you refuse to have your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) tested; if your BAC is tested and is above 0.08 percent; or if you are under 21 and your BAC is 0.02 percent. Separate rules apply to commercial drivers.

If the DMV decides to suspend your driver’s license because of a drunk driving charge, you have the right to a hearing. You have 30 days to request a hearing, starting from the day you are arrested for DUI/DWI. If you miss your deadline, your license will be suspended automatically‚Äú for 180 days for a first offense, and up to two full years for each offense after the first.

The hearing gives you a chance to explain why your driving privileges should not be taken away. You are allowed to have an experienced New Hampshire drunk driving attorney help you during your hearing as well. An experienced lawyer will examine the evidence carefully, cross-examine witnesses, and confront the evidence given by those involved in your New Hampshire DUI arrest and charging.

Losing your driver’s license for up to two years can be a significant burden for you and your family. The experienced New Hampshire drunk driving attorneys at Tenn And Tenn, P.A. have successfully handled many ALS hearings. We will examine the evidence in your case carefully and build an aggressive case as to why your driver’s license should not be suspended. Call Tenn And Tenn, P.A. today at 1-888-511-1010 for a free and confidential consultation.