Published on:

What Makes a New Hampshire DWI Charge “Aggravated”?

Like every state, New Hampshire prohibits driving a car, boat, or similar vehicle while intoxicated (DWI). For DWI situations that are particularly dangerous, however, New Hampshire law also recognizes a charge known as Aggravated Driving While Intoxicated, or Aggravated DWI. To turn a regular DWI charge into an aggravated charge, the person being charged must meet at least one of the following conditions.

A person who is driving while intoxicated or who has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more can be charged with an aggravated DWI if they:

  • Drive 30 mph or more over the posted speed limit;
  • Cause a crash that causes serious bodily injury;
  • Attempt to flee or hide from a police officer; or
  • Have a passenger who is 16-years-old or younger.

Anyone with a BAC of 0.16 or more may also be charged with an aggravated DWI in New Hampshire.

A conviction of an aggravated DWI in New Hampshire carries heavier penalties than a simple DWI conviction, even if the conviction is your first. A significant consequence of an aggravated DWI conviction is mandatory jail time. The Department of Motor Vehicles may also suspend your drivers’ license for up to two years after an aggravated DWI conviction in New Hampshire.

If you have been charged with a New Hampshire aggravated DWI, you need the help of an experienced New Hampshire drunk driving lawyer. The New Hampshire DUI criminal defense attorneys at Tenn And Tenn, P.A. have the experience needed to stand up for your legal rights in court and fight for the best possible outcome in your case. Call Tenn And Tenn, P.A. today at 1-888-511-1010 for a free and confidential consultation.