Published on:

DUI Charges Can Hit the Pocketbook Hard

According to a recent article from MSN.com’s “Money” section, driving under the influence is more expensive than one would ever imagine. Aside from New Hampshire DUI fines and bail costs, there are a variety of other factors that should be taken into consideration before you get behind the wheel of an automobile while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. And keep in mind that these fees exclude damages that would need to be paid in the event that property damage or injury to another person is involved.

MSN points to different fees that can add up to exorbitant amounts in the blink of an eye.

Immediate fees:

  • Bail – the typical cost ranges anywhere from $150-$2,500, depending on whether or not a bonding company, which makes it more expensive, is used
  • Towing – the typical cost ranges anywhere from $100-$1,200, depending on which city you are in and how expensive their fees are
  • Insurance – insurance premiums can go up by as much as $4,500 in the long run, and render your status with insurance companies as “high-risk” for as many as eight years
  • Legal Fees – can typically range anywhere from $2,000 to $25,000, depending on how in depth your defense is (i.e. experts and investigators brought onto the case to help discredit incriminating evidence can cost thousands of dollars in and of themselves)
  • Fines – can range anywhere from $300 to $1,200, depending on the state in which the offense takes place
  • Alcohol evaluation – about $200, and is required of anyone who has been sentenced for drunken driving
  • Alcohol education and treatment – considered a requirement for getting one’s license back, and can be as little as $150 and as high as $2,000, depending on the scope of treatment
  • License reinstatement fees – once necessary alcohol education classes have been taken, a fee of anywhere from $95-$250 must be paid to the state to revalidate your license

Longer-lasting fees and effects:

  • Life-insurance-premium increases – insurance companies can increase your monthly premium for a variety of different reasons, and reckless driving resulting in license suspension is one of them
  • Lost wages – DUI convictions do not accommodate your work schedule, and often times take a person away from work, consequently depleting the amount of income earned and greatly affecting a person’s financial stability in the long run
  • License suspension – this can affect a person anywhere from 90 days up to a year or more, and can seriously inhibit a person from commuting to and from a job everyday, which can lead to tardiness, absenteeism, or even eventual termination
  • DUI stigma – professional licenses can be lost depending on the severity of the DUI conviction, which can ultimately lead to loss of job or suspension; even new employers with no prior knowledge of your DUI conviction will find such a conviction on your permanent record, which could ultimately deter them from hiring you.

If you or a loved one is being charged with a DUI crime, do not hesitate to contact the skilled New Hampshire DWI defense attorneys at Tenn And Tenn, P.A. Our lawyers will examine the circumstances surrounding your DUI and will provide you the strongest defense possible. Please call us today for a free consultation at 1-888-511-1010.